Milestones

When I started this blog I indicated that it was because I believe in the technology and the manner in which the tool can be used for communication. Despite the rarity of my posts, I still believe in that purpose. So, I’ll continue to put here thoughts that don’t seem to have another forum in my activities.

I spent last weekend in Dallas, Texas.  My wife, Nancy, received The Margaret Byrd Rawson Lifetime Achievement Award from The International Dyslexia Association. I’m really proud of her because this is a big deal! What made the event even more special is that our sons, in-laws, nieces and nephews and SOs attended as well. It was sort of a mini-family reunion and it was great!

This was the first time that I had spent any appreciable time in Dallas except for flying through, so I took some time to visit the JFK assassination site. This was a milestone for me since JFK was one of my early idols. His 1960 presidential campaign was the first I ever paid any attention to; in 1961 a high school friend and I went to his inauguration (this was our Christmas present from our parents); and in 1963 college friends and I went to his funeral on that historic weekend. So visiting Dealy Plaza, the Texas Schoolbook Depository, and the grassy knoll brought it full circle. Like so many other things in our past, the whole area seems so small when compared to its historical significance.

Another one of my heroes, Norman Mailer, died this weekend. I’ve loved his books and writings, and admired his free spirit. I’ll admit that every fall when the Nobel Prizes for Literature were announced that I felt disappointment when Mailer didn’t win. He took chances and spoke his mind and I’m sure is “mixing it up” wherever he happens to be now.

Leave a Reply

